Skip to content

2 Month Check-in: Intermittent Fasting

June 29, 2012

Well this month didn’t go quite as planned. First week went well, but after that it all fell apart.

I spent ten days in Utah visiting friends and family. Nobody there eats like I do, and since I don’t want to insult my hosts, I eat what I’m offered. This meant cereals and pancakes for breakfasts, and eating out for lunch and dinner. I went to The Cheesecake Factory three times (each time someone got me a slice of cheesecake ‘for my birthday’), and also a trip to Benihana’s. Eating around the clock combined with no exercise was the MO here.

The morning after I returned I went on a week long business trip. Though I was able to skip breakfast, the food provided for lunch was not great, and each night one team or another had me out to dinner with them. There was a swimming pool, which I took advantage of as often as I could, but there wasn’t a weight room in sight, and the weather was not nice enough for a jog outside.

After I got back, I overzealously went and played basketball leading to a sprained LCL. So more sitting around, even less exercise, and an expanded eating window of 8-10 hours.

Where does this leave me? 12.4% body fat, and 187 pounds. Basically I’m back to where I started at the beginning of last month!

I did read this latest study that compares a low-glycemic index diet, versus a low-carb paleo style diet, versus a low-fat diet. Needless to say, the low-fat diet lost badly. What was interesting was the low-gi diet having similar metabolic benefits to the low-carb diet, without the increased cortisol. Though total energy expenditure was by far the best with the low-carb paleo diet.

The low-carb diet only allowed 10% of calories from carbs, while the low-gi diet allowed 40%. Also, the paleo diet was 60% fat, which is too high in my opinion. I’m normally 45-50% fat, 30% protein, 20-25% carbs.

So my plan for the next month is try a a low-gi diet combined with the fasting and compare that to the first month of low-carb paleo and fasting. Stay tuned.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. me2 permalink
    July 5, 2012 12:46 am

    I’m quite looking forward to your next diet update. I’ve been experimenting myself, and am about to try the same thing: IF w/low-GI diet. I recommend boiled eggs as a nutrient dense food that is both convenient to take to work, and satiating. Thank you for sharing your experiences.

    • July 5, 2012 3:56 am

      Yes, I’ve eaten my share of eggs over the last few years. 🙂 I’m currently analyzing paleo approved vegetables under a glycemic lens, along with a few other factors I believe are important. I hope you will find it valuable.

Leave a Reply

