Skip to content

Five Methods to Break Down Meditation Barriers

May 31, 2012

I was having an unusually difficult time in my evening session but it turned into one of the best I’ve had in some time. I had to use several techniques to help me through the difficulties, and I was so pleased with the outcome I thought I would share.

In no particular order, I use these as necessary:

Contentment
Be content with what you are doing. Every session isn’t going to be a land of bliss. Meditation isn’t always easy, you’re not always in control of your mind. The subconscious is going to do what it wants.
If you find yourself unhappy with how things are going, try to be content with exactly how things are. It is the nature of meditation to be rough at times, so be ok with it.

Gratitude
Be thankful that you are even able to find time to meditate. Your life is busy, maybe hectic, and you’ve been able to steal some time to sit quietly with yourself. It’s a rare opportunity with all the emails, phone calls, meetings, appointments, etc. The happiness in gratitude helps keep things in perspective, and makes it ok that you might be having trouble settling in.

Just be
I heard it once said that we are “Human doings” not “Human beings.” We are always doing one thing or another. Busy, busy, busy. This mental habit, and pace keeps going early on in meditation. It’s at these times that I remind myself that I should “just be.” It’s normal that your mind will try to remind you of the days trouble, or the meetings you might have first thing in the morning. This is your “human-doing” mode, turn it off and just “be.” Be the pain in your knee, be the feeling of the floor beneath you, be with your breath, the temperature of the room, etc.

Let go,stop trying
Very similar to above, but more specific. Meditation isn’t meant to achieve something, it’s meant to let go. I’ve sometimes found myself trying hard to feel at peace. Frustrated when I don’t get, so I try harder. It’s very, very counterproductive to struggle trying to find a little Zen. They are incompatible. You are only moving further away from your goal. Stop trying to achieve something, let go of that goal if Zen, let go of the concept of peace, just let go.

Be kind do your breath
Lastly, be kind to your breath. There are lots of methods dealing with watching the breath, these all have a time and place to be utilized. For me, they often distract as they are too goal oriented. When this is the case, I stop counting and following. I just try to be kind to my breath as if it was a visitor in my home. I relax and let it feel comfortable. My breath gets to be whatever it wants to be, deep or shallow, quick or slow. This lesson I learned from Ajahn Brahm. Again very practical, a little amusing, and effective.

I hope one of these help you in some way.

Happy Meditating.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2012 4:36 pm

    Thank you for the reminder that sometimes it will feel like work and that is ok. I’m going to give fasting a try myself. peace to you fellow blogger 🙂

    • June 7, 2012 9:08 am

      Thank you Monkiss. I hope that IF works out for you in one way or another. I’d be interested to hear how it goes.

      Regards,
      Kevin

  2. June 1, 2012 7:09 am

    Awesome article, Thx!

    • June 7, 2012 9:09 am

      You are most welcome Dennis. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      Regards,
      Kevin

Leave a Reply

